How to Get Started

2016 Minnesota Main Street Awards

Our Minnesota Main Street Communities (Faribault, New Ulm, Owatonna, Red Wing, Shakopee, Willmar and Winona) have broad community support, paid staff, and meet nationally defined standards. Main Street communities receive several benefits thanks to their annual membership, including some complimentary training admissions, and funding for on-site technical assistance.

How can you start a Minnesota Main Street program in your town? An easy first step is to check out the Minnesota Main Street Brochure, and contact the Minnesota Main Street Coordinator with any questions you may have about the program.

If your community is still interested in learning more, a community organization, whether it be the city, chamber of commerce, economic development authority, historic preservation commission, or downtown nonprofit group, it may apply to become an Network Community. At the Network level, communities can either be learning about Main Street with a group of volunteers or are communities with a long-standing downtown development group with years of success under its belt. Most Network communities are actively working towards becoming a Minnesota Main Street community.

Contact Minnesota Main Street Coordinator Sarina Otaibi.

To become an Network Community today, simply download and fill out the Network Community Registration Form_2017, and mail the completed form to 75 W. 5th Street, 416 Landmark Center, Saint Paul, MN 55102.

Minnesota Main StreetMinnesota Main Street Communities:

  1. Faribault Main Street (Big City Affiliate)
  2. New Ulm Chamber of Commerce (Big City Affiliate)
  3. MainStreet Owatonna (Big City Affiliate)
  4. Red Wing Downtown Main Street (Big City Affiliate)
  5. Main Street Shakopee *Accredited
  6. Willmar Downtown Development, Inc. (Big City Affiliate)
  7. Winona Main Street *Accredited

*Accredited: Main Street Programs that have met National Accreditation Standards of Performance.

Network Communities:

  1. City of Granite Falls Economic Development Authority
  2. City of Kasson Economic Development Authority
  3. City of Hastings
  4. City of Litchfield
  5. City of Luverne
  6. City of Sauk Centre
  7. City of Sleepy Eye
  8. City of Wabasha
  9. Downtown Crookston Development Partnership
  10. Fergus Falls Historic Preservation Commission
  11. Northfield Area Chamber of Commerce and Tourism