Minnesota Main Street

A thriving downtown has a powerful impact on a community—its people, its finances and its growth. That’s why the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota is proud to oversee the Minnesota Main Street program. The Main Street program helps towns and small cities maximize both their people and built assets for economic vitality.

Main Street Communities

Designated Minnesota Main Street Communities

Faribault . Mankato . New Ulm . Northfield . Owatonna . Olivia

Red Wing . Shakopee . Wabasha . Willmar . Winona

Network Communities

Bird Island  .   Luverne  .  Sleepy Eye . Sauk Centre . Litchfield

Joining the Minnesota Main Street Network

Minnesota Main Street Training Series

More Information

To learn more, check out the Minnesota Main Street Brochure, and contact Minnesota Main Street Coordinator Sarina Otaibi.

2017 Minnesota Main Street Awards

All communities are eligible for Minnesota Main Street Awards.

Main Street America



As a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program, Minnesota Main Street helps to lead a powerful, grassroots network consisting of over 40 Coordinating Programs and over 1,200 neighborhoods and communities across the country committed to creating high-quality places and to building stronger communities through preservation-based economic development.






This project has been financed in part with funds provided by the State of Minnesota from the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund through the Minnesota Historical Society.